Health and Social Care: Promoting Enhanced Professional Practice (PDA)

Glasgow Clyde College


Off Campus


The PDA is at SCQF level 8 in order to take account of the critical evaluative, analytical and reflective abilities required to support service delivery. You will gain knowledge of key theory in leadership, clinical decision making, team working, supervision, research/audit skills to support practice at an advanced support worker level.

This Group Award is made up of four SQA Unit credits. It comprises 32 SCQF credit points of which eight are at level 7 and 24 are at level 8.

Units include: Principles of professional practice; Team Working in care settings; Leadership and decision making; Quality Improvement: Audit in a health or social care setting.

A range of assessment methods will be adopted: case studies, essays, reports, reflective accounts, audit plan, development, report and evaluation.

Entry Requirements

Relevant previous qualification above SCQF level 7 or equivalent. Interview.

You should be working at, or working towards, the role of an advanced support worker within health or social care.

Progression Routes

Career framework development within health or social care

Start Date




Study Method

Distance and Flexible learning



Course Length

1 year


Health Care

SCQF Level