North East Scotland College

North East Scotland College

Play Video

North East Scotland College was formed in November 2013 when Aberdeen College and Banff and Buchan College merged. It has four main campuses: City, Altens and Craibstone SRUC (Scotland’s Rural College) in Aberdeen, and Fraserburgh Campus.

A fifth campus, Aberdeen Clinterty, is used exclusively as the ASET International Oil and Gas Training Academy Engineering Training Centre.

There is also a network of community learning centres at Banff Academy and Deveron Centre, Ellon, Inverurie, Macduff and Peterhead (the Scottish Maritime Academy).

Courses and subjects

The college runs courses leading to a range of qualifications including National Certificate (NC), Scottish Vocational Qualification (SVQ), Higher National Certificate (HNC), Higher National Diploma (HND) and Professional Development Award (PDA), as well as a range of professional qualifications.

Courses are taught in a wide range of subject areas: Art and Design; Automotive and Construction; Business and Management; Care; Computing; Engineering; ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages); Hair, Beauty and Complementary Therapies; Music, Drama and Creative Media; Professional Cookery and Hospitality; Science; Social Sciences; Sports and Fitness; Tourism and Events; and Veterinary Nursing and Animal Care.

Facilities and services

Specialist training facilities include hair and beauty salons, restaurants, TV, radio and recording studios, automotive and engineering workshops and a welding technology centre. The City Campus also has an IT Centre. Fitness facilities are available at the Aberdeen City, Altens and Fraserburgh Campuses.

Student support and guidance is available throughout the college.


The Scottish Maritime Academy at Peterhead is a nautical centre of excellence, providing specialist training and qualifications for those already in or looking to enter a marine-based career.


Image of North East Scotland College
View Large Map

Contact Details

Gallowgate Centre
Aberdeen City
AB25 1BN

Aberdeen Altens Campus

Hareness Road
AB12 3LE

Aberdeen City Campus

AB25 1BN

Aberdeen Craibstone Campus

Scotland's Rural College (SRUC)
AB21 9YA

Ellon Learning Centre

Ellon Academy Annex
AB41 9JS

Fraserburgh Campus

Henderson Road
AB43 9GA

Inverurie Learning Centre

Crichie Cottage
AB51 3SW

Macduff Learning Centre

Old Fife Street School
AB44 1XR

Off campus


Scottish Maritime Academy

Map Glasgow Dumfries and Galloway Ayrshire West Lanarkshire Borders Edinburgh and Lothians West Lothian Forth Valley Fife Tayside Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire Highlands and Islands