Scotland`s Rural College (SRUC)

Scotland`s Rural College (SRUC)

Scotland’s Rural College (SRUC) specialises in delivering skills, education and support for Scotland’s landbased industries. The six campuses are located across a wide geographical area, in Aberdeen, Ayr, Broxburn (Oatridge), Cupar (Elmwood), Dumfries (Barony), and Edinburgh. There are associated farms, horticultural units and other facilities on or near each campus.

Courses and Specialisms

The college runs courses leading to further and higher education qualifications, from Access and National Certificate (NC) right through to degrees and postgraduate. Vocational qualifications are also available, as are work-based learning (such as Modern Apprenticeships) and short skills-based training courses. The Universities of Edinburgh and Glasgow validate the degrees.

The wide range of subjects areas include: Agriculture; Animal and Biological Sciences; Animal Care; Business Management; Countryside and Conservation; Engineering; Environment and Renewables; Forestry and Arboriculture; Garden Design; Golf and Greenkeeping; Horse Care and Forgework; Horticulture and Plantsmanship; Hospitality; Landscaping; Rural Skills and Access Courses; Veterinary Nursing.

The SRUC is Scotland’s only agricultural and rural studies college.


The college has around 4,000 students at college, undergraduate and postgraduate levels. Many students are part time or studying on a work-based learning basis.

According to HESA, 94.2% of students from the 2015/16 academic year went into employment or further study within six months of graduating.

Facilities and Services

All campuses have excellent learning and teaching facilities as well as social spaces, food and drink options and sports facilities. On-site student accommodation is also available at some campuses.

Each campus has special facilities according to the courses they teach, for example the farm and Scottish National Equestrian Centre at Oatridge, the 18-hole golf course at Elmwood and the wildlife hospital at Barony.

There is support and guidance available for students at all campuses, covering issues such as finances, careers and health care.

Image of Scotland`s Rural College (SRUC)
View Large Map

Aberdeen Campus

Craibstone Estate
AB21 9YA

Ayr Campus

University Avenue

Barony Campus


Edinburgh Campus

King's Buildings

Elmwood Campus

Carslogie Road
KY15 4JB

Glasgow Botanic Gardens


Oatridge Campus

EH52 6NH

Off Campus

All over
Map Glasgow Dumfries and Galloway Ayrshire West Lanarkshire Borders Edinburgh and Lothians West Lothian Forth Valley Fife Tayside Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire Highlands and Islands