Photography (NPA)

UHI Moray


The National Progression Award (NPA) is designed to develop your knowledge and understanding in photography.

Delivered online the course covers areas including understanding different photography genres and concepts, practical skills in photographing people and places, and organising and working with photographic images.

You will also enhance your skills in research and presentation as well as practical basics in taking and editing photographs. These are transferable skills valuable in many sectors but will also equip you to move into further study or into employment that requires working to a brief, creativity, initiative and an eye for detail.

Course content includes four mandatory units (24 SCQF credit points):

Understanding Photography; Photographing People; Photographing Places; Working with Photographs.

Entry Requirements

1 subject at National 4 in an arts subject is preferred.

Start Date




Study Method

Distance and Flexible learning

Course Length

1 year


Creative Industries

SCQF Level