European Computer Driving Licence (ECDL)

Lews Castle College UHI


Lews Castle College Campus, Barra Learning Centre, Stornoway Campus


ECDL is an internationally recognised qualification that enables people to demonstrate their competence in computer skills. The ECDL certificate indicates that the holder has passed one theoretical test and six practice based tests.

The ECDL Advanced qualification is designed to progress the computer skills benchmark from the ECDL to next level of competence. It is modular and a certificate is awarded for successfully passing the test for each module. ECDL Advanced Word Processing, Spreadsheets, Database, and Presentation modules are currently available.

Seven modules including:

Security for IT users
IT user Fundamentals; Word Processing; Spreadsheets; Database software; Presentation software; Using Email and the Internet.

Entry Requirements

No formal entry requirements

Progression Routes

Advanced ECDL

Start Date




Study Method

Part time (day)
Part time (evening)

Course Length



Computing and IT

SCQF Level


Career Area

Computing and ICT

Career Sectors

Computer Skills

Related job profiles

No related job profiles.

Computing General

IT Security

IT Support

Programming and Development

Systems and Networks

Web and Multimedia