City of Glasgow College


City Campus


Learn English skills from Beginner level to SQA Higher. ESOL courses are offered at the following levels - Literacy, Starter, Beginner, Elementary, Pre-Intermediate, Intermediate National 4, Upper-Intermediate for Work (SCQF 5), National 5 Exam (SCQF 5), Higher Exam (SCQF 6).

You can improve your vocabulary, grammar, writing, speaking and listening language skills. You can get SQA ESOL certificates when you do assessments and exams in the English courses.

ESOL lecturers are language teaching experts and help you in developing language skills and study skills. Our courses improve your English for living in Scotland, the world of work or further studying.

Each summer, you can progress to the next level of ESOL and study with at the college for two or three years.

Entry Requirements

No formal entry requirements. Higher level exam entry requires SQA ESOL National 5 at A or B.

Progression Routes

After ESOL levels 4, 5 and 6 you can move into subject specialist courses at SCQF levels 5, 6 or 7.

When you study ESOL you can also join a class called ESOL into Further Education (EiFE).

Start Date




Study Method

Part time (day)
Part time (evening)

Course Length

38 weeks


English as a Second Language (ESOL)