Actuarial Science

Heriot-Watt University


Edinburgh Campus


The MSc Actuarial Science course lasts one year. It covers six subjects from the professional syllabus: CB1,CB2,CM1.CM2,CS1, CS2. It is examined over two semesters, followed by a three month summer project. A nine month Postgraduate Diploma can be studied for the same six subjects. You can also study part-time over a maximum of four years (The diploma and the part-time option are only available to students who don’t need a visa to study in the UK).

The masters in Actuarial Science is designed as the starting point to a career as an actuary – preparing you for a leading role managing risk in financial institutions worldwide. Many of the staff are qualified actuaries, meaning you’ll be able to benefit from their extensive business knowledge and research expertise.

The course offers hands-on experience solving real-life financial problems through interactive lectures, tutorials and practical coursework. What’s more, their close links to industry means you’ll have the chance of a summer placement within Edinburgh's financial sector.

You can exit at the end of Stage 2 with PgDip Actuarial Science.

Entry Requirements

The programme is primarily intended for graduates with a strong mathematical background. Our normal minimum entry requirement is the equivalent of a UK 2.1 degree in mathematics, statistics or a related discipline with a high mathematics or statistics content.

We are also looking for students who are keen to join the actuarial profession, have a willingness to work hard and a drive to succeed.

Start Date



Postgraduate Master's



Study Method

Part time (day)

Course Length

4 years


School of Mathematical and Computer Sciences


Actuarial Mathematics and Statistics

SCQF Level